Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
M
OP Offline
M
I'm new to Band In A Box and this is irritating. Why are all the data files installed in the same main folders as the program files? How can I move all the data files to a separate drive (where data files from ALL my other applications are) and keep the program files on the C: drive, and preferably in C:\Program Files\ ?

My SSD C: drive contains all my applications, application data and system data. All my data files are on a larger (albiet slower) D: drive. EXCEPT, Band In A Box 2018 forces data and program files into the same main folder.

And come on! Put the BIAB program files in the program files folder where they belong! There's a good reason that write access is restricted in system folders like C:\Program Files\. Installing on the root drive appears to be sloppy or lazy programming; something I might expect from a $10 shareware app, not from an established mainstream application.

-Randy
Veteran
Veteran
Originally Posted By: el camaleón
And come on! Put the BIAB program files in the program files folder where they belong! There's a good reason that write access is restricted in system folders like C:\Program Files\. Installing on the root drive appears to be sloppy or lazy programming; something I might expect from a $10 shareware app, not from an established mainstream application.

Randy, Welcome to the forum.
The recommended location to install BiaB is x:\bb\
Where 'x:' is the drive you select, and for most users this is C:\
Nowhere else is recommended.

You are also very mistaken about installing in Program Files, and it appears you are not aware that there has been a paradigm shift from that methodology for many years now.

Microsoft themselves now no longer recommend the use of \Program Files\, and instead recommend creating a path at the drive level itself, or in the \Libraries\Documents\ folder.