Go To
Help! Tech S.O.S (Off topic)
G
Geneoh Offline OP
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
G
So Im running my HP Laptop into a Fender FM25DSP.
And yes Im new at this..anyway Im doig this to simply run Band In A Box
through the amp to blend with guitar.
Its a 2 ch amp with RCA inputs, so headphones out of LT to RCA inputs.
Problem is everything sounds wavy on the RCA ch...out of Laptop.
The laptop plays fine when not connected to the amp.
The sound is best described as wavy...high & low every 2-4 seconds?
Could this be a line out level issue? My laptop also has Beats Audio.
The only way to control the volume of my input ch is from the LT
Im just trying to learn to play with some backing tracks and its very annoying.
I just got the 2018 BIB & dont think it has anything to do with my issue.
I used BIB for a short while 10 years ago..
BTW Im running windows 10
Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!
Gene

Veteran
Veteran
Originally Posted By: Geneoh

Its a 2 ch amp with RCA inputs, so headphones out of LT to RCA inputs.

So, if I understand you correctly you are feeding the RCA input of the amp with a headphone output from the laptop?

That won't work very well because the RCA input of the amp is expecting a high impedance, low output signal (line level) and a headphone output will be just the opposite, low impedance, high output.

Do you have a line out on the laptop?

Veteran
Online Content
Veteran
This is one of my personal goals, to ensure no one does it that way (grin).

Dave is correct; the headphone jack is not a line-level signal. The gain can be close if you turn up the laptop maybe two-thirds (varies, of course). The impedance will still be wrong and degrade the sound.

What I really hate, in addition to poor quality sound, is the horrible static-like blast you will hear when the headphone connection isn’t perfect, especially when it is jostled. This can clear a room worse than feedback. And those mini headphone jacks will fail, just by their design.