Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Page 6 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
Veteran
Veteran
Originally Posted By: jazzmammal
I'm not a computer pro but I work for a company who hires an outside IT firm to handle all of that. They are absolutely adamant that we move our server to Win 10 so we are soon even though it will really cost because of too many things to go into here. ...
Bob

(italics mine)

You lost me right there.
If your company server runs on Win10 you may be doing it wrong.

Make your sound your own!
.. I do not work here, but the benefits are still awesome
Apprentice
Apprentice
Originally Posted By: rharv
If your company server runs on Win10 you may be doing it wrong.

For the record... if a company runs on Microsoft servers, they most likely are using Windows 2016 Server, which is the platform Win 10 Pro run at its best as client. Windows 10 is NOT a platform that even can work as a server anyway; the sole mention of someting similar shows the level of misinformation or simple ignorance about the subject some people show, even when they're self-proclaiming being some kind of "expert".

Most server farms run on Linux/UNIX platforms. Always have, always will.

Last edited by LtKojak; 06/22/18 11:33 PM.

Pepe aka Lt. Kojak
Milano, Italy
https://soundcloud.com/theodore-kojak/tracks
Hy-Bro Test Sound Files
Veteran
Veteran
Yep, Windows 10 is strictly a desktop client, not a server OS. Here at Pensacola Naval Air Station we have upgraded all our workstations to Windows 10 Enterprise (and for the most part everything works fine). The back end is a mix of Windows Server 2008 (and some Windows Server 2016), as well as some Redhat Linux and Solaris Unix). Only the desktops run Windows 10 (Enterprise Edition, so we only get updates after they have been vetted through the information assurance processes). We previously ran Windows 7 (Enterprise).

John

Laptop-HP Omen I7 Win11Pro 32GB 2x2TB, 1x4TB SSD