Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Beginners Forum
S
OP Offline
S
I am new to the program and have been beating my head against the wall trying to create a sort of backing track for "On the Way Home" (Neil Young / Buffalo Springfield). The problem is the chords have a definite pattern which is more 8th note oriented and has a sort of 4/5 feel but it's definitely in 4/4 time. Nothing seems to work for me.

Here is the first page of the sheet music.

On the Way Home Sheet Music

Seems accurate although I might change that opening pattern to two 8th notes followed by an 8th rest then hold for the remaining 5/8. (If you listen to the original version, it's sort of done this way.)

And here's the song itself I'm trying to comp.

On the Way Home - YouTube video

Any help is appreciated. Like I said, I'm new to this so be gentle.

Beginners Forum
Veteran
Veteran
Sven Golly,

Welcome to both Band-in-a-Box and to the forum!

One way to approach the song could be to make each bar count as half a bar. As an example lets say you determine the song tempo to be around 90 beats per minute (bpm). Change the song timing to 180 and each beat in a bar is worth one eighth note.

When you do this, you'll have to try half time and double time RealTrack settings because chances are 180 bpm styles and RealTracks would not sound appropriate for your song.

Jim Fogle - 2024 BiaB (1111) RB (5) Ultra+ PAK
DAWs: Cakewalk by BandLab (CbB) - Standalone: Zoom MRS-8
Laptop: i3 Win 10, 8GB ram 500GB HDD
Desktop: i7 Win 11, 12GB ram 256GB SSD, 4 TB HDD
Music at: https://fogle622.wix.com/fogle622-audio-home
Beginners Forum
Veteran
Veteran
BiaB has a system that allows you to modify the rhythmic duration of chords. Here's the list, where X represents any chord. Notice that some modifiers are placed before the chord (shot, hold, silence), while others are place after (pushes):

• X. Silence
  • X.. Strum, then mute the chord (shot)
  • X... Strum and hold the chord (hold)