Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Help! Tech S.O.S (Off topic)
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
I've been using Yahoo Mail for many years but it seems to have become unreliable, a lot of my outgoing messages are not being received by my contacts.

I would like a program that will indicate that my message has been received and read.

I attempted to download MS Outlook for it's free mail program but I couldn't create an account since I don't have a a cell phone number.

Is there a free program similar to Outlook that you can recommend please?

Veteran
Online Content
Veteran
Don, have you looked at Gmail? I switched to that from Yahoo about ten years ago, when spam became overwhelming. Gmail is perhaps the most developed free email in terms of usage and add-ons.

BIAB 2024 Win Audiophile. Software: Studio One 6.5 Pro, Swam horns, Acoustica-7, Notion 6; Win 11 Home. Hardware: Intel i9, 32 Gb; Roland Integra-7, Presonus Studio 192, Presonus Faderport 8, Royer 121, Adam Sub8 & Neumann 120 monitors
Veteran
Veteran
+1 on Matt's comment. I also still use my old Hotmail (now Outlook) and Yahoo.

Steve

BIAB/RB 2022, Pro Tools 2020, Korg N5, JBL LSR 4328 Powered Monitors, AKG/Shure Mics.
PC: Win11 PRO, 4 TB M2 SSD, 2 TB HD, 128 GB Memory
Veteran
Veteran
I use gmail predominantly, and interface with it both from the web interface, but also using Thunderbird as muy web client (you could use Outlook also). I don't recall seeing read receipts as a feature in the web interface (but I could have missed it), but you can certainly request them when using a desktop interface such as Thunderbird or Outlook.

I still have a couple of Yahoo accounts, but rarely use them. Of course, Yahoo now belongs to Verizon, since they bought them out.

John

Laptop-HP Omen I7 Win11Pro 32GB 2x2TB, 1x4TB SSD
Desktop-ASUS-I7 Win10Pro 32GB 2x1.5TB, 2x2TB, 1x4TB SATA

BB2024/UMC404HD/Casios/Cakewalk/Reaper/Studio One/MixBus/Notion/Finale/Dorico/Noteworthy/NI/Halion/IK

http://www.sus4chord.com
Veteran
Veteran