Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#90762 11/11/10 01:07 PM
Off-Topic
Journeyman
OP Offline
Journeyman
I don't know where I got this link so if someone has already posted info about this guitar please excuse me.

In another thread, started by Sundance, the discussion was vocal comping. Now the fret lights on these guitars lays out the scales for you, in any key. I would seriously use this and feel like it would definitely further my knowledge of guitar. Plus I might find some hellacious leads by using it.

How many would use it and how many thinks it is definitely cheating? My vote is, I like it!

http://www.fretlight.com/

"The desire for fame is the last infirmity cast off even by the wise."
Cornelius Tacitus
Off-Topic
Expert
Expert
You have to be aware of what you`re doing while using this guitar. It can be a real helpful thing. But when you just look at the lights and without always reminding yourself of what scale you`re in then it`s of no use.

So as a guitar teacher my thumbs go up for this thingie, but use it with brains. Not like the folks that make a U-turn in a single tube tunnel, just because the GPS told them so;-))

"GuitarVersum" YouTube Channel: Jazz Chord Melody Tutorials
Jazz Guitar Lessons | Jazz Guitar Gear Reviews
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkT05N04ICdHgmDZrGYz-5A

Lesson Shop:
https://guitarversum.com/shop

Off-Topic
Veteran
Veteran
Agreed, it has merit as a learning tool. Many years ago I looked at it closely but never pulled the trigger. Since then I like to think I have now learned all my scales and modes so would be of little value. So it just depends on where you are in the learning curve.

Dan, BIAB2024, SoundCloud Win11, i7(12thGen), 32GB, 1TB SSD(M.2 NVMe SSD), 2TB Libraries, 1 TB(WD-Black), 2TB SSD(M.2 NVMe SSD)Data, Motu Audio Express, Keystation 61, SL88 Studio, Reaper

DrDan #90765 11/11/10 02:18 PM
Off-Topic
Journeyman
OP Offline
Journeyman