PG Music Home
Posted By: newbert Basic Chordsheet Questions - 01/16/12 02:31 AM
As a newbie, I'm still trying to learn everything involved in completing a chord sheet.

I've figured out how to enter chords onto the correct beats, but still don't undrstand how to differentiate between various parts of a song. For example, I'm working on entering the Beatles "Yesterday". Part one is 7 measures, which gets repeated twice. Part 2 consists of 15 measures which also repeat twice. Finally, the ending consists of 2 measures. I've figured out how to enter Part 1, but have problems after that. Here are my specific questions:

1. How do I set up The repeat in Part 2, without undoing the repeat that I set up for Part 1?
2. Although I've entered chords into gray measures, they don't get played. I know that the measures need to be white. How do I make them white so they are played?
3. How do I enter the double bar to show the end of the song?

I hope that I'm using the correct terminology and that my questions are clear..... Any help with this would be appreciated.

P.S. I searched thru the printed manual before posting here, but couldn't find my answers. The index isn't real specific, and the section on the chord entry, on page 54, didn't cover these specific questions. So, if someone could point me to a more step-by-step part of the manual, or to a simple tutorial, that would be great.

Thanks.

Bert
Posted By: raymb1 Re: Basic Chordsheet Questions - 01/16/12 03:03 AM
Probably the easiest way is to not use any repeats. Write it out as one chorus, 7-7-8-7. Set the length of one chorus to 29 bars and as many repeats of the chorus as you want. Put your 2 bar ending at the end of the chorus. Click on the S to the right of the song title and set your ending there. Later, Ray
Posted By: Sundance Re: Basic Chordsheet Questions - 01/16/12 04:23 AM