PG Music Home
Posted By: LtKojak Your favorite Jazz/Smooth Jazz Real Tracks? - 02/14/12 09:01 AM
To all of you Jazz players... what styles are you using for your backing tracks, compositions, etc.?

There's an enormous amount of them, which ones are your favorites? I've bought the BIAB 2012 Everything Pack and I'd like some advice from you, experienced users. I'm a total newbie on BIAB.

I'm all ears!
No Jazz players in this forum?

C'mon guys...
If you have BB 2012, and you press the band button, you will see our favorite jazz real styles.
Note that this list only displays styles that you have the realtracks for.
Well, there are several jazz players on this forum. I simply found the question hard to answer, since I use so many jazz-oriented RealTracks. You should take some time and audition them all; you never know when you will use them.
My favorite is _JazFred.sty

This is a RealStyle, of Jazz Swing.
It is a quartet, piano, bass, drums and guitar (4 in the bar chording ala Freddie Green)

It uses tempo swapping, so it works for wide range of tempos, from slow ballads (60) to fast bebop (300).
I am in the same boat as Matt, I use sooooo many of them I can't pick just one.

Later,
I have used the _JazFred.sty mostly as Peter does I guess. I seem to come to it most often.
Posted By: Mac Re: Your favorite Jazz/Smooth Jazz Real Tracks? - 02/16/12 02:41 PM
I use *any* style that will do the job at hand, regardless of labeled genre or type. .

That may not be the "easy" answer to the original question, but over the years I have found style not listed under Jazz headings that will indeed work well with my Jazz offerings, especially when considering SmoothJazz, sometimes a Style labeled as HipHop works just fine with some of those, or a Gospel labeled style, even some of the Country styles can have their moments.

Best thing to do is to AUDITION styles yourself with the song you've entered, sometimes loading a way out stylename has opened the door to cretivity here.