PG Music Home
Posted By: Jyde D Bad Results using the Chord Analyser - 08/19/09 05:07 PM
It may be my own lack of hands on experience but I find the chord Analyser tool suffers from general bouts of inaccuracy.
My expectancy was that it would rip chords from MP3's as cleanly as MP3's can be ripped from CD's. However it seems to get thrown into confusion about what its analsying and can come up with some not so accurate chords to the extent that the tune is almost unrecognizable. Again I stress that I am new to this particular tool. Is there a way of increasing this accuracy to at least 90% , Maybe a specific file type, or recording mode or settings adjustment. Has anyone else found this tool disapointingly inaccurate or a fantastic feature to use? If so pray tell us how.
Posted By: silvertones Re: Bad Results using the Chord Analyser - 08/19/09 05:19 PM
The simpler the song chord wise the better.
Posted By: jford Re: Bad Results using the Chord Analyser - 08/19/09 05:27 PM
First of all, you only gave us two choices (although polls usually don't play that well here, in general). So it's either wonderful or it's really bad.

Usually, depending on the type of music, it's somewhere in between. And it's generally pretty good at least picking up the bass note of the chord. But it's not a silver bullet. You still have to apply a little bit of music theory to fix it up afterwards.

To me, that fact that it works at all is pretty amazing. I don't think comparing this to ripping MP3's from CD's is fair. When it gets down to it, that's pretty much just an exercise in math. I would compare it having software that analyzes a photograph or a painting and then tells you "what it sees". That's what the chord analyzer is trying to do for music. Software could probably pick out faces and bodies in a posed photograph, but what about a painting by Jackson Pollock or Picasso?

You also didn't say what kind of music you were trying to get the chords for.