PG Music Home
Posted By: jptjptjpt Saint Brigid's Day (Hurry Home Róisín) - 01/30/22 03:50 AM
This is my first time using BIAB 2021. I was pleased with the options available to me.

I'll post the links to the songs up front and you can read the particular (or not) at your leisure.

Here is:

Saint Brigid's Day (Hurry Home Roisin)

And the video version:

Saint Brigid's Day:

Thanks for any listens, views, and comments. I appreciate it very much.

Saint Brigid's Day is the first day of February and it is the traditional start of spring in Ireland. I loved that concept so I wrote a song about it.

Here are the particulars:

-SL16UNP, STY Folk Pop Ballad
Key D
85 bpm
1596: Guitar, Acoustic, Strumming POP 16ths Ev 16
1595: Guitar, Acoustic, Fingerpicking Pop 8ths Steady
1601: Mandolin, Rhythem Pop 16 Melodic

I recorded the vocals into Mixcraft 5, using my SP1 mic, via the Cl1 interface.

Here is a glossary of terms used in the lyrics:

Róisín - (pronounced Row-sheen) is a common female name in Ireland. It means "little rose".

rose - while not the national flower (the shamrock is, or course), the rose has a special place in the hearts of the Irish. W. B. Yeats used the rose to symbolize Ireland in several of his poems.

ewe - a female sheep.

yean - (of a sheep or goat) give birth to (a lamb or kid).

puffin - The puffin is a bird, similar to the penguin, that returns to Ireland each spring.

Saint Brigid's Day (Hurry Home Róisín)

Hurry home Róisín
Ere a rose is seen
You promised we would marry in the spring

Hurry home Róisín
Soon the ewes will yean
You swore to me you would wear my ring

I know New York City
Is very far away
I pray you'll be with me
On Saint Brigid's Day

Hurry home Róisín
Before puffins preen
I miss you and all the joy you bring

I know New York City
Is very far away
I pray you'll be with me
On Saint Brigid's Day

Hurry home Róisín
Ere a rose is seen
You promised we would marry in the spring