PG Music Home
Posted By: Edmund Creating MIDI files for practice - 05/28/17 02:33 PM
I just bought a MOOG Theremini. It is a modern version of the classic Theremin. It is very difficult to play and I want to make some simple MIDI files to play along with. Octave, major and minor triad, major and minor scale, chromatic scale. Since the Theremin is chromatic and the fingering is the same in every key, I only need to record each exercise once and then, since it is MIDI I can speed it up as I get better and raise or lower the pitch. I have BIAB 2014 but have not used it. I just want to use the onscreen keyboard to create simple MIDI files with a flute tone. This is a very simple use of BIAB. Most of the instructions in the manual are very complex and have to do with many features I don't need. Also I'm a total beginner with BIAB. Can someone give me the basic menu items I need to use?
Thank you.
Posted By: Noel96 Re: Creating MIDI files for practice - 05/28/17 04:30 PM
Edmund,

Welcome to the forum.

The easiest way that I can think of would be to use the notation editor and to add notes on the Melody track using your mouse. To play back, you could then solo the Melody or, if you wanted drums to keep you in time, mute all tracks except the Drums and Melody.

1. Start a song in 4/4.

2. Open Notation Editor.

3. Start Editable Notation Mode.

4. Create the scale by clicking on beats 1, 2, 3, 4 in each bar. (Where each beat note is a scale tone.)

5. Save the file.

For triads, you can enter notes one on top of the other. You will need to turn off 'Mono' mode to do this.

The image below summarises the above.

Regards,
Noel

Attached picture entering scales notes triads chords.JPG
Posted By: MarioD Re: Creating MIDI files for practice - 05/28/17 05:06 PM