PG Music Home
https://www.coursera.org/course/musicproduction

This was a great class. Really important basics are taught in this class. I wish that PG and other music tech companies could bundle up the videos as reference material.

But no need, you can take the class - download the videos for an incredible desk reference on the basics of recording, mixer usage, signal gain structure, etc.

It's free.

If you are a newbie, it's value is hard to measure. Seriously good content.

I wish it had been available when I started into this hobby 30 or so years ago.

I've been doing home recording for 20+ years, with MIDI sequencing before that for a good 8-10 years; and I learned a few really important topics in this 6 week course.

1. Where you should put a reverb or delay insert. It's very obvious to me now, but since the DAW I use does not have a mixer paradigm for signal flow, I've made the mistake of putting sends for these effects pre-fader a few times in the past.

2. Comb filtering - see the other thread I started in this forum for the results of my assignment that I did on this topic. (Video quality leaves some to be desired and I accidentally had the 'mirror' tick box checked on YouCam as I was doing my recording, so the comb filter results that you see on the FFT analysis on the computer screen is backwards from what you would expect to see). Anyways, I convinced myself that particularly for monitoring, I should be concerned about where my monitors are located (meter bridge is not a good idea!).
I signed up for this class twice already! The first time I did the songwriting class instead, the 2nd time I just couldn't get rolling. Maybe the third time is the charm! Thanks for the notification!
Dear Forumites,
Hi, I'm enrolled and up to my neck in this online course right now. We're in the 3d week and I've already learned so much. I highly recommend it to anyone new to music production.