PG Music Home
Posted By: Benboom All midi voices have the same patch - 02/07/11 07:53 PM
Hi -

I'm new to BIAB and I registered here just because of this question, which is driving me nuts. When I use midi tracks (as opposed to Realtracks, which seem fine) all my midi voices are coming out with the same voice. I am using the Plugsound Global module, which is a replacement for GM soft synths, and is multitimbral. However, the same thing happens with the few other soft synths I have tried. The correct patch NAMES show up when I load a song, but (for example) everything is coming out as a piano right now. If I go into the Soft Synth dialog and select a different instrument that changes, but the voices still all play the same one (I tried it with a pan flute to see - sure enough, bass gets played as a low pan flute then).

I am using Windows 7 Ultimate (64 bit), and I also have ASIO4ALL installed, although I am not using it with BIAB. I had to have that one because I also use Reaper as my DAW and its performance is awful without it. Could someone please tell me what other information to supply in order to figure this out?

Thank you.
Posted By: Muzic Trax Re: All midi voices have the same patch - 02/07/11 07:58 PM
Ctrl+Alt+Q will send a GM reset in Biab. If your playback device is GM standard, press those 3 together and see if it resets your patches. It should as long as your playback device is General Midi Standard.

You may also want to check your midi driver device and see what it is set to in Biab. Opt/Pref/Midi Device Driver

Trax
Posted By: silvertones Re: All midi voices have the same patch - 02/07/11 07:59 PM
Do a return to factory settings. It sounds like the instrument table might have gotten messed up.
Posted By: rharv Re: All midi voices have the same patch - 02/07/11 08:08 PM
Are all the tracks on the same MIDI channel?

That's what it sounds like to me.
Posted By: Benboom Re: All midi voices have the same patch - 02/07/11 08:28 PM