PG Music Home
Posted By: Randy29 Casio Privia PX-130 compatibility - 02/24/13 09:28 PM
I am new to digital music and music software. Is anyone currently using Band in the Box 2013 for Windows with a Casio Privia PX-130?
Posted By: Rachael Re: Casio Privia PX-130 compatibility - 02/24/13 10:33 PM
Rather than wait for a 'yes', what do you need help with?
Posted By: Randy29 Re: Casio Privia PX-130 compatibility - 02/25/13 01:53 PM
I do not want to purchase the software only to find out that it does not work with my Casio Privia PX-130. I have no reason to believe that it will not work.
Posted By: Rachael Re: Casio Privia PX-130 compatibility - 02/25/13 03:15 PM
A brief look at the Casio indicates it does not support GM midi commands. Although BIAB defaults to GM, patches are easily changed. In fact, there a number of patch maps available for Casio in the support area found HERE.
Posted By: Randy29 Re: Casio Privia PX-130 compatibility - 02/26/13 12:55 AM
Thank you Rachael but I must confess I didn't understand much of what you provided. I do no expect everyone to educate me on what for me is a new music experience. At any rate, I think you told me that it is ok to purchase BinaB 2013 because I can download software that will make my Casio PX-130 useful. Is this correct?
Posted By: allis Re: Casio Privia PX-130 compatibility - 02/26/13 01:46 AM
That Privia is not a complete "General MIDI" sound module, because it contains only a limited set of commonly-used keyboard sounds. It has no pretensions to the full set of 128 instruments that BiaB can use. It is, however a competent and unusually nice-feeling MIDI keyboard that can work with a program like BiaB. The chances are that you won't be relying on General MIDI sounds much anyway, since the BiaB Real Tracks replace them.