PG Music Home
Posted By: Sergino About the copyright - 10/27/18 01:14 PM
I created a song for a short film using also a part of "EuroDance with the Strings RealTracks demo". This Biab demo has no artist performances on the Melody track or Solo Track. So I think it has only the accompaniment tracks generated by Band-in-a-Box and I can use it as part of a composition. But the film director after uploading on you tube received this message: "Dance with Dogs - Alfred Bram Zoer Audio Recording 1:49 - 2:34 play correspondence ". As the demo has no real melody but just synth patterns, is this a copyright infringment or not?
Posted By: Matt Finley Re: About the copyright - 10/27/18 01:35 PM
Copyright laws differ in different countries and I'm not a lawyer. Having said that,

I wonder what that other song is? Could it be another song generated by BIAB, and it happens to be such an exact match that it triggered the warning?

Do your chords have any rhythmic patterns (shots, holds, rests) that would make it sound like 'hits' in the song that are distinctive and recognizable?

In theory, without using someone's melody, you should be OK, unless you copy the 'hits'.

However, the problem may be that you said the word "demo". If this is a PG Music demo song, then those ARE copyrighted.

This is the sort of case that they ask juries to untangle, when big money is involved. It's not an exact science (yet).
Posted By: DrDan Re: About the copyright - 10/27/18 01:43 PM
I once put just a few seconds as an intro, a "Gong sound". I think I sampled the short wave from the web, and when I tried to upload the song, SoundCloud denied it saying it was copyrighted material.
Posted By: konaboy Re: About the copyright - 10/27/18 02:42 PM
this has happened to me too, i uploaded a backing track to YouTube and the content match algorithm flagged it as a copyright infringement. it was a match of some obscure song that I couldn't even find on the internet...