PG Music Home
Posted By: Jan R Using laptop for BiaB just for playing SGU - 03/11/19 09:47 AM
I am using BiaB for many years. I use it at home. I am not a professional musician. I play piano and use mp3 files generated by BiaB on my desktop PC. I like to use a laptop with BiaB installed to use just the basic features: typing the chords, using realtracks and realdrums, playing thru my audio active monitors via mixer.

The laptop will not be used for other things than BiaB. I like to know what the requirements are to use BiaB for above mentioned tasks.
Jan, since BIAB 2015, the program has three activations each year. This allows you to install it on both your desktop and your laptop.

There is no ‘basic’ version of the program. The program is the same; the differences in packages is the number of RealTracks and styles you get.

Most laptops have a smaller hard drive but if you bought BIAB on a USB drive you can just move that between computers.

When connecting a laptop to monitors, I recommend a USB sound module instead of plugging into the headphone jack.

If I misunderstood your question and this isn’t the info you needed, write back. For example, are you looking for the minimum requirements for a laptop to be able to run BIAB?

Posted By: Jan R Re: Using laptop for BiaB just for playing SGU - 03/11/19 10:54 AM
Thanks Matt,

Yes, if you can give me an idea of the minimum requirements? Because I will not use the laptop for normal PC activities I don't like to spend to much money.
OK. I think the best way to put it is that BIAB requires more computer power than most programs. I would not skimp on the laptop if it were for BIAB and you want a satisfactory experience.

To my knowledge, the most important factor in regenerating RealTracks is the CPU. After that, a fast hard drive to load them. Finally, you should consider having more than the minimum memory. The display is the one thing that doesn't matter.