PG Music Home
Posted By: Hellalive Hold a chord over chord changes? - 07/26/19 07:20 PM
Hi!

I'm new to BIAB as of today but I already love it and have made some great tracks.

I've a small problem though, is it possible to hold a chord over chord change? Like in Zombie by The Cranberries, when the verse beginns the electric guitar plays an E minor that is ringing out over the next chord change to a C. I know how to hold a chord in BIAB but when the next chord comes the chord that was on hold stops abruptly.

Is there any way to solve this?

Thanks!
Posted By: Noel96 Re: Hold a chord over chord changes? - 07/26/19 07:43 PM
Hi Hellalive,

Welcome to the forums smile

How I would solve this problem is to use two tracks for the instrument that you would like to have ringing and have this instrument on both tracks. Let's call these track A and track B.

To set up track A: have the C chord and remove the Em chord. To get the held effect type C... (the three dots say to "hold" the chord). This can also be set using Chord Settings (ALT+F5). Keep the other chords the same. Generate this track by right-clicking on the track names in the mixer, select Track Actions and then generate the track. Freeze this track.

Now that Track A is organised and frozen to preserve the C hold. Modify the chordsheet by entering C in place of C... and adding the Em chord. Generate and play.

Regards,
Noel

Posted By: Hellalive Re: Hold a chord over chord changes? - 07/26/19 08:05 PM
Originally Posted By: Noel96
Hi Hellalive,

Welcome to the forums smile

How I would solve this problem is to use two tracks for the instrument that you would like to have ringing and have this instrument on both tracks. Let's call these track A and track B.