PG Music Home
Posted By: steambc Can BIAB create chord progressions? - 05/05/20 12:46 AM
I am new to BIAB this year and I was wondering if the program has the ability to create chord progressions on its own. Would someone please steer me in the right direction? I'm in information overload right now as I learn the software, and I can't find that functionality. I know that if it exists, it could well be right in front of my eyes.

Thanks!
Posted By: AudioTrack Re: Can BIAB create chord progressions? - 05/05/20 02:15 AM
Originally Posted By: steambc
I am new to BIAB this year and I was wondering if the program has the ability to create chord progressions on its own. Would someone please steer me in the right direction? I'm in information overload right now as I learn the software, and I can't find that functionality. I know that if it exists, it could well be right in front of my eyes.

Thanks!

Although I haven't actually used it, I think what you are looking for is the Melodist feature.

From Help, it states:

"Feel like composing a brand new song?

Using the "Melodist" feature you can compose a new song in the style of your choice, complete with intro, chords, melody, arrangement, etc. All you have to do is choose from one of the many "Melodists" available and press [OK] button. The program then creates the intro, chords, melody, and arrangement in any given style. The Melodist will also generate a melody over an existing chord progression."
Posted By: Noel96 Re: Can BIAB create chord progressions? - 05/05/20 04:02 AM
If you have a melody, then the Chord Reharmonist might also be worth visiting.

Attached picture chord reharmonist.JPG
In Band-in-a-Box, head to:

Melody | Melodist...

Within this window, you have many options to choose from and select.

To generate JUST the chords, simply remove the check-marks next to the other criteria:
-Generate Intro
-Insert Bass Pedals
-Generate Melody
-Solo in Middle Chorus (may already be unchecked, mine is!)