Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST

Posted by: Pipeline

Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 11/19/20 10:36 PM

With Biab it generates up the track into RAM then plays from there,
BBW4 (Biab) will do the same for the Plugin then writes it to a wav file.

If I drop a wav/wma from my RealTracks folder into Reaper, slice it up, change the pitch, stretch and rearrange it, (Non Destructive Editing)
when I play it back it will still be playing the same original untouched source wav file.
Couldn't you get the Plugin to do the same ?
Rather than all the time waiting for it to be generated to wav files,
it should be way quicker to generate up just the reference data and play direct from the wav/wma source files.
Then the time would be just in the render to wav when you finally get what you need, rather than all the render time for something that may not be right, not to mention all the SavedTracks hard drive space.
That's why with the Vol/Pan and more audio sends it can be all done in the Plugin without using any hard drive space or long render times.
I know if I generate a track in Reaper with a script pulling the needed sections out of a wav file to fit the chord track it's instant,
it's only simple random matching where as Biab will do more musical calculations but it should be near as quick, it would have to be as quick as generating midi.
So moving just the necessary generate code from BBW4 into the BiabVST code would give you instant play.

It's like if I freeze all the tracks in Biab and save to SGU it will store all the reference data for the tracks: file, bar/s, time start/time end, transpose and stretch amount.
So if I open this SGU in the BiabVST it should be able to read and play those section direct from file without generating into RAM then rendering to wav.

See pic below Reaper is just pulling out sections of wav that match the chord track, it will just play direct from the source until I render it.

Then this is the render time in the next pic, it will render all those sections to a new wav on your hard drive.

Posted by: Simon - PG Music

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 11/20/20 02:37 PM

I believe part of the reason is to keep system requirements down as low as possible.

Currently Band-in-a-Box will run on just about anything - pretty sure it'll run on a potato. If we program BB to render everything in realtime, then our users who are still running some very old computers will need a faster CPU, more Ram, faster hard drive, etc.

Granted, I would support having "realtime" as the default and keeping the old "generate" as an option for those who are still running potatoes. But I'm not in development so I have no idea how much coding it would take to do it all in realtime.
Posted by: Pipeline

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 11/20/20 02:59 PM

Originally Posted By: Simon - PG Music
...then our users who are still running some very old computers will need a faster CPU, more Ram, faster hard drive, etc. ....


We are talking about the BiabVST not Biab that old users with old PC's with a Pentium 100 use, we are talking about users with high end DAW's not PowerTracks, this is what the BiabVST was made for. You can't hold back modern day studio users with high end DAW's because of old users from the 90's.
That's why I said get all the generate code into the BiabVST then development will be at the speed of light away from the old BBW4 code.
There will still always be a Delphi Band In A Box for all those users that are comfortable and at home with it.
Posted by: Pipeline

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 11/21/20 01:26 PM

Here's a video playing back the 24bit 48KHz files that are pitched and stretched with non destructive editing in real time, these files are all on a USB 3.0 drive same as RT/RDs.
So if the BB Plugin can move to this method there won't be any wait time, it will play a frozen SGU from Biab instantly in your DAW.

I put all this info up as there are big (good) changes coming so I might be doing other things and might not be around too much.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/szd9wcytf2vgv78/Reaper-24bit-48KHz.mp4?dl=0
Posted by: Pipeline

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 11/23/20 01:11 PM

This is an actual RealTrack playing direct from the Biab RealTracks folder:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/maxphbq184wg3sx/Reaper-RealTrack.mp4?dl=0
Posted by: Pipeline

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 11/29/20 04:17 AM

Now with the Audio Sends you would be able to leave the tracks in the Plugin as data without having to render to wav and drag into the DAW tracks, you just render the DAW project.
Posted by: Pipeline

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 12/06/20 02:32 AM

Here's 1/8 changes with a RealTrack playing direct from the bb\RealTracks folder, so it should be easily doable in the Plugin.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/6lpq2hoes8eqe84/8th-Chord-Changes.mp4?dl=0

Same deal with the RealDrums playing direct from the bb\Drums folder

Posted by: Pipeline

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 01/05/21 01:18 PM

Another thing, using track data you should be able to highlight a section of chords, right click copy data, then paste data over the same chords in another section.
So if you have a riff you like playing in one spot you can copy it to another, all without wav rendering time same as I can in Reaper.

To give you an example how easy this works I put a RealTrak and RealDrum in a Reaper project, just remove the .mp4 from the download below.
RT 372 & NashvilleSwing Example wav.rpp.mp4

The project will look for
\bb\RealTracks\Guitar, Acoustic, Strumming Hank Sw 120\AcG011.wav
bb\Drums\NashvilleSwing8^\nashvilleswing8^_110_Style.wav
so point Reaper to those folder when prompted.
If you don't have wav just convert those two files from wma to a wav also.
Posted by: justanoldmuso

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 01/09/21 06:50 AM

pipeline.
happy new year.
notice your graphic before the last one ?
showing reatrak at bottom ?
wouldnt it be great if my bb chord view wish showed all those different reatrak song sections as matching tabs at the top of biab chord view ?
see what i mean ?
best.
muso.
Posted by: Pipeline

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 01/09/21 03:35 PM

YES, I think have the Tab name/color whatever you name and color the song section as, this way you are not limited to a set of names and colors.
It's a good idea, it's all doable and other users have been requesting it also, but what can you do ? hope wish pray ??
If Biab had scripting we could make it up right now.
Posted by: justanoldmuso

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 01/10/21 05:37 PM

pipeline.
yep wish bb had scripting.
frankly i'm teed off.
i'm not bothering posting suggestions in wishlist anymore, cos it seems other users dont care much.
i mean c'mon tabs in chordview is obvious. like above in reaps. also obvious is changeing the oddball chorus feature.
i feel we are both "tilting at windmills".

sorry but i think i'm going to be on here less.
careing bout this stuff isnt worth it.
just this week i had to do more workarounds.

regarding support for ancient pc's, thats why i hinted in the
wishlist to have an early warning system so people didnt
crash etc etc when trying to load in some cpu hogging crazy plug ins.
but noone seemed to support that idea.
one person maybe. sigh.

keep up your great work, and much respect to you.
muso.


Posted by: Pipeline

Re: Instant Generate & Play of RealTracks/Drums in BiabVST - 01/10/21 06:23 PM

BB needs to hire The Workarounds but Reaper don't it goes solo.
I went through years of frustration and stress until I found Reaper and scripting and now with the BBPlugin I think just about anything you can conceive of, you can create in Reaper.
Rather than hoping wishing praying cursing.. for it in BB you can get it started now in Reaper.

With the Song Section Tool I made up, I could add that with the Chord Sheet so whatever song section it's on it will display that without any BBPlugins showing.
This would also work without the BBPlugins.