PG Music Home
Posted By: Bill Az Sound Fonts in Power Tracks - 03/20/17 09:41 AM
I've been using PT for 14 yrs.(Still on Ver 10b which serves my purpose well) I really like it. I have also been using my SB Audigy 2 NX ext. sound card and sound fonts with PT.

That was windows 2000 and XP. Now with Vista (my old pc which is now a dedicated music pc) I use PT and midi files to create songs I vocalize to (and love the TC Helicon and all it's neat tricks).

My question is (not a PG Music problem) Creative Labs has dropped support for sound fonts after XP. Is there another way to integrate SF into Power Tracks?
Posted By: Jim Fogle Re: Sound Fonts in Power Tracks - 03/20/17 12:12 PM
Yes if the version of PowerTracks you use can accept VSTi instruments. The Plogue Sforzando midi instrument PG Music now uses plays Soundfonts. There are multiple GM compatible Soundfont libraries available on the internet.

PG Music sells +++ Coyote Forte DXI +++ which is a GM compatible soft synth.

PG Music also sells +++ Cakewalk's Music Creator 7 +++ which includes Roland's GM compatible TTS-1 soft synth.

+++ Sonar Home Studio +++ replaces Music Creator 7. It is the same price as Music Creator 7 and also includes the TTS-1 soft synth.
Posted By: Bill Az Re: Sound Fonts in Power Tracks - 03/20/17 02:04 PM
Jim, The VSTi instruments. The Plogue Sforzando midi instrument you mentioned is a new term to me. Please forgive my ignorance on this newer stuff, but I'm just looking to get away from my old way of working (my creations worked well on the older versions of everything).
I'm researching all these things that are new to me, but still a bit confused.

How do I go about getting VSTi and Plogue files and how to marry them to my Power Tracks? Is PT 17 a lot more refined? I am just doing basic stuff. Singing along with midi file (with decent sounding instruments) and taking advantage of the Pitch correction and harmonies PT has.

Thx, Bill [u][/u]