PG Music Home
Posted By: Bernier Mastering - 01/11/20 07:27 PM
I’ve been using PT for quite a few years. Lately I’ve been reading on mastering. My problem is some songs sound ok and others are missing something but I have no idea what. I can pick out obvious things like tracks too loud/soft, but overall I don’t know what I can do to get a a better sound. From reading about mastering, it sounds like the listeners experience has so much to do with mastering - they know what to do to get a better recording.
I’ve read there are services that will master online but are done digitally and not very good. I’ve played around with eq and compression and honestly cannot hear any difference. I do all my listening through headphones and maybe that has something to do with it.
Advice is greatly appreciated!
Bernie
Posted By: Teunis Re: Mastering - 01/11/20 08:57 PM
From my opinion the trick to mastering is to get the mix right first. Then to master I use Izotope 9 and also the Tonal Balance Control. Using the Mastering Assistance puts it close then watching the Tonal Balance Control do a bit of tweaking to get the track where I want it. Note that it still has to sound the way I like it.

Seems easy with the right tools but all this can be achieved using free tools. For example Limiter 6 and a good EQ plus something like Voxengo Span or Melda’s analyser. Then use something like a Youlean LUFS meter to keep a check on volume. Total cost is nix. Is it as good as Izotope Ozone 9? Maybe, but Ozone makes it much simpler particularly with Tonal Balance Control.

My thoughts

Tony
Posted By: rharv Re: Mastering - 01/12/20 11:55 AM
I'll second Ozone.
If you feel the sound is missing something, this is likely the answer.

I also like the YouLean meter Teunis mentioned. But that's just a volume/level/LUFs measuring tool.
Ozone does the magic.
Posted By: Bernier Re: Mastering - 01/12/20 01:06 PM