PG Music Home
Posted By: Bernier ASIO issues? - 08/28/21 05:12 PM
I have PTPA 2021. Downloaded ver 4 update. All kinds of probs freezing, shutting down, etc. did fresh install, same issues but at different times. Was getting ASIO loading errors, which I have had intermittently before.
I switched to MME and issues seemed to have disappeared. I understand MME goes through the OS before output, but is there really that much difference ? I am only a hobbyist.
I have a Line 6 Toneport UX1 as my audio output. As far as I can tell, it uses proprietary ASIO drivers. I checked it and was told I have the latest drivers though they are several years old. I tried to reinstall them and the program that does this does not work. I have contacted Line6 tech support.
I have tried ASIO4ALL in the past and it didn’t seem to work.
My point is, in my situation is there anything diminished by using MME drivers?
Thanks to all!
Posted By: justanoldmuso Re: ASIO issues? - 08/28/21 05:30 PM
i ditched my toneport ages ago. its in a cupboard.
ideally you want a proper usb asio interface.
heres a list that pg users find work well......
https://www.pgmusic.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=635707#Post635707

MY ADVICE ? rent the device before buying to ascertain
it works well with your pc.
no dont use mme.
best
om
Posted By: rharv Re: ASIO issues? - 08/28/21 05:43 PM
Originally Posted By: Bernier
I have PTPA 2021. Downloaded ver 4 update. All kinds of probs freezing, shutting down, etc. did fresh install, same issues but at different times. Was getting ASIO loading errors, which I have had intermittently before.
I switched to MME and issues seemed to have disappeared. I understand MME goes through the OS before output, but is there really that much difference ? I am only a hobbyist.