RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed

Posted by: Daniel Donval

RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/08/19 08:45 AM

Bonjour,
It seems that Sforzando is not proposed as plug-in with RealBand.
Am i right ?
Thanks
Daniel
Posted by: Jim Fogle

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/08/19 10:07 AM

It appears that Sforzando is a VSTi and RealBand requires a DXi.

DXi sound engines such as Coyote WT are registered with Windows during installation. Registration is how RealBand knows the utility exists and the location.

Sforzando does not register with Windows during installation so RealBand does not recognize the program.

Using RealBand 2019 build 3, I set an empty track to midi, clicked the track fx, selected the add VSTi option, navigated to Program Files\Plogue\sforzando\VST and selected the "sforzando VST_x86.dll" file and it loaded fine. You have to select the x86 file because RealBand remains a 32 bit program at this time.
Posted by: Bob Calver

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/08/19 10:22 AM

haen't tried it but does that mean that BIAB uses sforzando automatically when you select the appropriate midi patch but when you open a BIAB file in RB it doesn't work?
Posted by: Bob Calver

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/08/19 11:16 AM

just tried it and can't get a midi supertrack to play. i can see it has information but no sound is produced. i get a messgae like 'ok to add ?????????.tgs but press ok and nothign happens

i have added the sforzando ok but it shows the instrument as empty

tried all sorts of combinations but the only thing i haven't tried is deselecting 'route all midi to default dxi' which is the hypercanvas

did that and the supertrack played - but the edirol showed up as the default player. loaded the sforzando and its silent again.

how do i get most midi tracks to play with the edirol then supertracks as they are supposed to with the high q patches?
Posted by: Jim Fogle

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/08/19 12:06 PM

Bob,

What version of RealBand are you using? You can verify by looking at the bottom of the splash screen while the program opens or selecting Help > About. The latest is RealBand 2019, build 3

A TGS file error means the program is searching for 1K Multimedia files for Amplitude or SampleTank2. PG Music provided a copy of SampleTank 2 back when SampleTank was 32 bit and had a free player available for download. When SampleTank 3 was introduced the player was 64 bit and no longer compatible with PG Music products so PG Music switched to the 32 bit version of Sforzando. Sforzando uses SFZ and SF2 soundfonts.

Does the yellow message in the image below look about the same as the message you saw?
Posted by: Bob Calver

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/09/19 12:42 AM

I'm using the very latest version of RB. the message was I think green and said ok to load something or other patch etc tgs which looked like RB was doing the right thing

midi info appeared but it was silent

in the past I've found that its usually me doing something simple wrongly

by the way all other tracks were real tracks and could it be that i'd converted all tracks to ordinary tracks as opposed to BIAB? the midi info was there just couldn't play with the high q patch.

do I need to load the sforzando in a different way? I can get it loaded - as per the screen shot - but instead of the midi supertrack being loaded the instrument box says no instrument

Posted by: Noel96

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/09/19 02:12 AM

Bob,

I have build 3, RB 2019 and when I loaded a style with a MIDI Supertrack in it, the song's generation defaulted to my default VSTi/DXi (in this case Coyote WT).

What I did was then

1. right-click on the MIDI Supertrack

2. click on the "Open VSTi/DXi Synth Panel Configuration" (upper image)

3. next I loaded Sforzando in the top slot (#1 on lower image)

4. followed the #2, 3, 4, 5 to load a PG Music Hi-Q sound

Hope this helps.
Noel
Posted by: Bob Calver

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/09/19 03:11 AM

thanks Noel - my issue is adding a Midi supertrack to an existing RB project.

all the other tracks are realtracks and i have been adding realtracks with no problem and hoped i coudl do the same with midi supertracks.

i know if I want to add a normal midi track in RB I have to change the style to one I want that has a midi part. the problem i have is that i need to know which midi style to change the style to - i can't audition midi tracks like realtracks (maybe that's too much to ask!)

with the option to add a midi supertrack i get to see all the midi supertracks i could use but they remain silent once generated.

ideally i'd like to see the supertracks available, click generate and hear them play when i return to the tracks window - but whilst the information is visible no sound is produced. i got the track to play using the edirol but that defeats the object of having high q sounds - unless i can choose the right instrument in sforzando? that would mean memorising the patch the supertrack claims to use. the tgs message seemed to suggest everything was working ok but i just couldn't get the track to make a sound with sforzando loaded but i will try your suggestion as above and see if i can select an instrument in sforzando
Posted by: Noel96

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/09/19 06:19 AM

Bob,

Under "Options | Preferences | 6-MIDI | MIDI Devices", do you have the option "Reroute MIDI playback through default VSTi/DXi" selected? In addition, do you have a default VSTi/DXi selected?

Regards,
Noel


Posted by: Bob Calver

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/09/19 08:07 AM

yes i do - see the post above but if i uncheck it what do the rest of the midi tracks that i like do for a soft synth - do i have to assign the edirol to each track and the sforzando to the track i want the high q patch on?
Posted by: silvertones

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/09/19 09:30 AM

You do midi two ways in BIAB.
1.Assign one synth for all midi tracks. This is the DEFAULT.
2. Assign individual midi synths to each track by unchecking the DEFAULT syth.
Posted by: Jim Fogle

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/09/19 10:24 AM

Bob,

RealBand does not need a midi style to sample a midi instrument. The program can use whatever style that is already loaded. However, the program does need a chord chart that can be used as a guide to generate tracks.

As a side note, when a Band-in-a-Box song or melody file is opened in RealBand, RealBand normally reserves the first eight tracks for Band-in-a-Box midi tracks and loads RealTracks starting with track nine. See first screen shot.

This default behavior can be changed by right clicking on any track icon to open a sub menu. Select "Track" then "Make all BB tracks regular tracks" and all tracks become audio tracks. The sub menu also has a selection to "Make first 8 tracks BB tracks" if you want the first eight tracks to revert to Band-in-a-Box midi tracks. See second screen shot.

Right click on any unused track icon to bring up the sub menu. Select "Track Type: Audio Stereo" and change the selection to "MIDI". The unused track will change to a midi track. See third screen shot.

Once a track is set for MIDI right click on the track icon to open the sub menu. The sub menu now has many midi related options and settings, including loading a Hi-Q Instrument. See fourth screen shot.
Posted by: Bob Calver

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/10/19 04:37 AM

thanks jim i seem to have stumbled my way through things with your help
Posted by: Bob Calver

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/10/19 04:38 AM

thanks jim i seem to have stumbled my way through things with your help
Posted by: Jim Fogle

Re: RealBand 2019: Sforzando not proposed - 02/10/19 08:36 AM

Hi Bob,

I'm glad the information I provided helped. Thanks for the update.