MP3 Codec

Posted by: John F

MP3 Codec - 05/18/19 10:11 PM

I have created my song in RB2018 and saved it as a SEQ file. I want to save it now as an MP3 file but I get a msg that says I don't have the MP3 Codec installed. I went looking for an MP3 Codec and downloaded LAME, but I don't know where to place it, or if it is even the proper codec. Was the codec supposed to come with the RB/BB program? Can anyone tell me?
Posted by: Noel96

Re: MP3 Codec - 05/19/19 02:20 AM

Hi John,

In the past BIAB did not come with the mp3 codec needed for saving. The K-Lite Mega pack contains this codec. (This is what I used to use in the past.)

https://www.codecguide.com/download_kl.htm

Is there are a reason that the file needs to be mp3? If not, it's possible to save in the wma format directly from RB. This gives the same amount of compression as mp3. Because it's a Windows format, though, the codec comes with Windows.

I no longer have the mp3 codec on my system and what I do if I need mp3 is to use Freac to convert a WAV file to mp3. This software gives me a great deal of control over the final product and I prefer it.

https://www.freac.org/

With the LAME codec, I'm not sure where it's best installed. Hopefully someone will jump in and give you that information.

Regards,
Noel


Posted by: rharv

Re: MP3 Codec - 05/19/19 05:33 AM

Depends on what version you got.
If you got the LAME ACM version I'd follow the advice below (use at your own risk) that was included with the LAME ACM 3.99.3 download -

reference:
How to install on Win7 x64:


1. Extract it to for example c:\lame

2. Run cmd with admin rights (ctrl+shift+return)

3. cd %windir%\SysWOW64

4. rundll32 setupapi.dll,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 0 C:\lame\LameACM.inf

(Thanks to Markus Stein.)


Don't ask me how or why but I ended up with both Fraunhofer and LAME mp3 codecs available.
You can open the .inf file in a text editor to see what it does if you want.
If it doesn't work for you there is always LAME Front End..
Posted by: silvertones

Re: MP3 Codec - 05/19/19 06:19 AM

I was never able to get it to work on my new computer.I'm sure RHARV you remember. Don't know what the issue is. I've had to resort to using Audition to convert. No big deal but strange
Posted by: rharv

Re: MP3 Codec - 05/19/19 06:59 AM

Yeah, I remember.
Wonder if the whole Run as Administrator (step 2) was the issue ..
Or maybe it's that I'm running W7 Professional (?)
Not sure what else it may be.
Posted by: John F

Re: MP3 Codec - 05/19/19 04:09 PM

Yes, I did save to a WAV file then imported it into Audacity where I was able to save it as an MP3. That works, but it sure would be convenient if PG Music would include an MP3 codec with their software.
Posted by: Bob Calver

Re: MP3 Codec - 05/20/19 02:19 AM

I export a final mix to audacity as a wav - then normalise on Audacity as I find that easier for a final mix - then export as mp3
Posted by: silvertones

Re: MP3 Codec - 05/20/19 02:06 PM

My win7 machine works as well. The one that doesn't is Win10
Posted by: JediMercer

Re: MP3 Codec - 11/19/19 09:19 AM

I know it may be six months too late, but I had issues getting LameACM running on Windows 10 and finally fixed it by using a different version. Wrote a post about it here: http://www.jedimercer.com/archives/321

But in a nutshell, try downloading lame64.zip from http://members.optusnet.com.au/squid_80/ and installing that.