AUTO-TUNE and QUANTIZING

Posted by: Warren Keller

AUTO-TUNE and QUANTIZING - 05/20/19 04:12 PM

Hi guys,

Two quick questions. There's no quantizing of audio in RB, correct? I'm comfortable in RB though I realize other DAWs are more powerful. Not trying to create anything crazy, it would just be nice to make minor time corrections.

Secondly, I use RB's TC Helicon to generate harmony from audio rather than MIDI and it does a nice job. It can't, however, auto-tune as my TC Helicon VoiceLive Play can, correct? I'm looking at the Antares Access.

Thanks!
Posted by: jford

Re: AUTO-TUNE and QUANTIZING - 05/20/19 04:24 PM

The TC in RealBand can auto tune based on a MIDI track, but it does transform the audio into one with some artifacts. I prefer to auto tune first using Melodyne, then using the TC-Helicon to do the harmony.
Posted by: rharv

Re: AUTO-TUNE and QUANTIZING - 05/20/19 04:41 PM

Quote:
There's no quantizing of audio in RB, correct?

Not a good one natively that I know of, but you can work the other way (adjust the Tempo map to match the Audio using the ACW) so then MIDI will match the audio tempo
Actually I'm not really sure what 'quantize Audio' means to you though ..

Quote:
Secondly, I use RB's TC Helicon to generate harmony from audio rather than MIDI and it does a nice job. It can't, however, auto-tune as my TC Helicon VoiceLive Play can, correct? I'm looking at the Antares Access.


Yeah, tuning isn't one of the TCHelicon plugin's fortes, unless you give it a direct MIDI track .. there are a couple free tuning FX you could try to find, like GSnap, but an Anteres product would likely be better or maybe Melodyne. (GSnap is an old VST so as always be careful you get a safe source to download from. GVST was the original source as I recall)

Many times I still lean toward my old OBTune (an old Anteres variation by Oberheim) .. doubt you'd even find that anymore though.
There are likely ways to record your hardware VoiceLive unit back into the project also, which may be even better.
Posted by: Warren Keller

Re: AUTO-TUNE and QUANTIZING - 05/20/19 06:37 PM

Thanks guys! I tried GSnap and couldn't get any good result out of it? It was recognized OK by RB and opened fine but wasn't pulling notes up to pitch (that were maybe 20-25 cents off pitch) before artifacts were introduced? Will probably get Antares Access. Rharv, by 'quantize Audio' I meant being able to adjust/move timing in audio recordings of horns or whatever to a grid as you can in Logic? Thanks always!
Posted by: silvertones

Re: AUTO-TUNE and QUANTIZING - 05/21/19 06:13 AM

To me a home record is has no need for auto tune. I assume if someone is making a CD then they should be able to sing. Just keep signing over and over to different tracks then copy/paste all the good parts to one track. If you just can't get a note then use auto tune on that one small section.
Posted by: jford

Re: AUTO-TUNE and QUANTIZING - 05/21/19 06:35 AM

I like OB-Tune, as well, but it is limited as a 32-bit DXi plugin. Unfortunately, it is (and hasn't been for a long time) available any more.

I've tried GSnap, but like Warren, I was not satisfied with the results.

Melodyne does a great job, but it also generates some weird artifacts at times. I have not had great success using it live on a track; I usually offload the WAV file and use the standalone, set the parameters to bring everything more or less into tune, but not 100%, and then edit note by note as needed. That makes the end result less robotic.