PG Music Home
Realband Newbie here...

I have a Focusrite 2i2 Gen 3 witha icrophone one one input.

I have a Band ina Box song loaded in Realband.

I press Record Audio. It starts, has a metronome and plays the song and I do record.
I keep the take.

The I play this back and the audio is not quite on time. I think the audio is late. It looks that way on the tracks waveform.

I assume it is some latency, possibly in the BIAB audio out from Realband to speakers during record or input from the mic to Realband.

I think I have the same issue when recording in BIAB directly.

How do I fix/get around this?

This Realband from BIAB 2020

Description: Trombone recorded on track 12
Attached picture Timing capture1.JPG
latency (lag of recorded sound to the RB backing tracks) is usually a problem caused by the drivers. your focusrite should come with its own ASIO drivers which should cure the problem. choose the driver for input and output.

what audio drivers are you using at the moment?
Originally Posted By: Bob Calver
latency (lag of recorded sound to the RB backing tracks) is usually a problem caused by the drivers. your focusrite should come with its own ASIO drivers which should cure the problem. choose the driver for input and output.

what audio drivers are you using at the moment?

True. I note that BIAB uses WAS always.(I reckon it has similar latencies to Realband).

Realband uses Windows default (MME only)

But I use the Focusrite for mic input only and computer headphone out to amplifier/speakers.
change the driver then - MME will always give latency problems - WAS is usually ok but the dedicated ASIO drivers for your interface will be the best solution
change the driver then - MME will always give latency problems - WAS is usually ok but the dedicated ASIO drivers for your interface will be the best solution

I am a bit weary of ASIO drivers as I had a heap of trouble. I will look into i.t

Just read in the The RealBand user manual that it supports the newer