PG Music Home
Posted By: Don M Rerouting effects in Real Band - 04/12/21 05:18 PM
Though I have been in the music business all my life, I'm somewhat new to recording technology. Apologies if this is an idiotic question . . .

I want to record a guitar track on track 1
Then add an effect to the guitar on track 1 (let's say reverb)
I then want to send that reverb effect (just the effect) to track 2 and record it there.

Third step is the problem. Sending just the effect signal and recording it eludes me. I have searched the manual and Youtube, but am unsure if I am even using the correct terminology to form an intelligent question and/or valid search.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Don
Posted By: Del Re: Rerouting effects in Real Band - 04/12/21 05:32 PM
Hello Don,
The way I interpret your question, you want to put the exact same effect for track 2 as track 1 has so you can record a guitar on track 2 with the exact same effect. You should be able to do this be setting up the effect in the 'Mixer' panel. I believe you would have to have the two tracks as a subgroup and assign the effect to that subgroup.
Posted By: rharv Re: Rerouting effects in Real Band - 04/12/21 06:20 PM
I read it a whole different way.
I take it that he wants JUST the reverb effect recorded to its own track, which in recording means you are now hard writing that effect as is to it's own track; in other words, you can't go back and change it .. ever, without redoing it.

In this day/age this is not a good work flow since you can keep the effect and adjust it whenever as needed as long as you don't hard write it.

Now to get to my answer.
Open the effect in the FX area (if reverb) and set the MIX to be 100% 'Wet' inside the reverb effect. This is so you get a good signal in the end result for the new track, and you only get the reverb itself (no dry guitar).