PG Music Home
Posted By: richh Controlling external synth for MIDI playback - 05/31/18 03:35 PM
Hi, I'm fairly new to BIAB, and am trying to set up a MIDI out to an external synth module, as I really like the sounds it produces. I've connected my USB linked MIDI interface to my Macbook Air laptop, and installed the correct driver. It shows as connected, but when I playback the song(s) from BIAB I can't get it to send out MIDI to the interface.

I realise there may be settings to change both on the Mac and on the BIAB setup screens, but I've tried various things and come up short. I know that MIDI is not getting to the USB MIDI interface - if it was, there would be flashing LED's.

I do have BIAB set up with playback to an amplifier without MIDI. I bought a jazz fakebook set of tunes from Bob 'Notes' Norton, and I understand that these are really MIDI files? Though they seem to be SGU suffix not MID.

Can anybody please offer any advice?

Thanks!

Rich
Hi Rich,

In Band-in-a-Box, click on Options, then Select MIDI Driver or Apple DLS Synth, choose MacOS X CoreMIDI, and click OK.

The Select Ports/Instruments window may appear. If it doesn't, click on Options again, then CoreMIDI (Choose Ports).

In the Select Ports/Instruments window, choose your MIDI interface beside Bass, click "set all ports to this", then OK. As long as the synth is General MIDI-compatible, it should just work right away.

The Norton songs will be Band-in-a-Box song files (SGU), and will use MIDI styles, but won't be MIDI files.

Thanks
Kent
PG Music
Hi Kent,

Thanks very much, that all makes sense!

I went through the process, and I still am not seeing any flashing lights when I play back the song(s), so MIDI info is not getting to my USB interface. Could part of the issue be that I am simply not playing back a MIDI file?