PG Music Home
Posted By: furry Running band in a box on linux mint - 10/11/12 03:42 PM
Hi guys, been using linux more & more for surfing & listening to the spotify music channel.
Cn somebody please give me a simple step by step guide on how to run biab using wine ?
I'm almost a complete newb at command lines so thanks in advance for any help
Posted By: tonymoloney Re: Running band in a box on linux mint - 10/12/12 05:50 AM
I don't use Mint as my main desktop, (I'm a Ubuntu user) but the procedure is the same..

First of all, if you haven't already done it, look in your Software Manager and install WINE. Alternatively, even though you're a newbie at command line, you can open a terminal and type in sudo apt-get install wine

Once WINE is installed, simply place your BIAB CD in the drive and it should automatically ask you if you want to use the Windows Installer.

Then, after BIAB is installed, you might get lucky and find that everything works. However, my guess is that you're going to run into problems with sound i.e. getting MIDI to work.

I have BIAB installed on my Ubuntu system, but every time I do an on-line upgrade, something breaks and I have to go thru the trauma of getting MIDI to work again.

However, other than MIDI, everything else should work, so you can use it for printing lead sheets ec.
Posted By: Mac Re: Running band in a box on linux mint - 10/12/12 03:32 PM
Graham,

My reccomendation to you is simple enough.

Don't do it.

Save yourself the grief.

This is not for the faint of heart, not for the hardcore technophobe, the real problem hear is typically drivers, drivers and drivers. Getting the hardware that we need to work, Audio, MIDI, etc. is problematic to put it mildly.

Use a Windows machine for BiaB and use the Linux machine for websurfing.

--Mac
Posted By: furry Re: Running band in a box on linux mint - 10/12/12 08:03 PM
Thanks Mac I'll keep biab ina different hd from windows. I normally just use Linux for surfing
Furry,