PG Music Home
Posted By: MarioD a de-esser question - 02/08/20 02:22 PM
I looked through my effects and I do not have a de-esser. I just read that I can do it manually in Studio One Pro but it looks a little intensive. Has anyone one had success with a de-esser? The Waves one looks good but I have no experience at all in this area.

Thanx in advance for your time and suggestions.
Posted By: Robertkc Re: a de-esser question - 02/08/20 02:39 PM
Mario,
I find Waves Sibilance more useful than the de-esser module in Nectar.It has some useful presets and more adjustments... still often need to fine tune with volume envelopes though.

Robert
Posted By: Noel96 Re: a de-esser question - 02/08/20 06:23 PM
Hi Mario,

You should be able to do the following in Studio One. (It's how I de-ess in Reaper.)

1. use an equaliser on the vocals to find what frequency range covers the ess sound

2. send just those frequencies to a compressor

(This method works really well for my voice.)

The below video show how it is done in Reaper. This might give you some ideas.

Before that, I used the de-esser in iZotope's Nectar and before that I used the free Digital Fishphones, 'SpitFish'.

http://www.digitalfishphones.com/main.php?item=2&subItem=5

Hope this helps,
Noel
Posted By: beatmaster Re: a de-esser question - 02/08/20 06:30 PM
I use dynamic microphones Now, Although I used to do the pencil trick when I used a condenser mike.

Attached picture Capture.PNG
Posted By: floyd jane Re: a de-esser question - 02/08/20 06:48 PM
In Studio One Pro, there is a Preset in the Compressor - under Vocals - called "DeEsser-S1".

You might give that a try.
Posted By: Janice & Bud Re: a de-esser question - 02/09/20 10:59 AM
We have three de-essers but have not used them (Logic Pro, Nectar 2 & Waves).

While not designed specifically for de-essing we’ve found that a pop filter along with specific mic placement prevents the problem. On the other hand perhaps Janice isn’t an esser smile Dunno.

Bud