PG Music Home
Posted By: pghboemike 50 Best live albums?? - 06/05/20 10:53 AM
https://uproxx.com/music/best-live-albums-ranked/
Posted By: Frank Alves Re: 50 Best live albums?? - 06/05/20 12:54 PM
Speaking as a guitarist, I have to move The Allman Brothers Band Live at the Fillmore and the Who's Live at Leeds to the top of the list. Hendrix's Band of Gypsys needs to be on the list for the first note of the "Machine Gun" solo alone.
Posted By: Notes Norton Re: 50 Best live albums?? - 06/06/20 10:00 AM
IMHO The James Brown album they listed as #12 should have been #1 (although I am glad they included it).

It is the best example of complete audience control I've heard on a live album. It is non-stop entertainment, he teases them singing a line or two of a huge hit only to go on to another and finally when he gets to the biggest hits it's like an ear-orgasm to the audience.

It's a lesson in audience pacing, teasing and pleasing.

Insights and incites by Notes
Posted By: Guitarhacker Re: 50 Best live albums?? - 06/06/20 11:00 AM
Huh? Seriously?
Posted By: AudioTrack Re: 50 Best live albums?? - 06/06/20 11:54 AM
No disrespect to the cultural critic who presented this, but any number of other 'critics' would come up with any number of different lists. It's really subjective, isn't it? Surely.
Posted By: mrgeeze Re: 50 Best live albums?? - 06/06/20 12:51 PM
Originally Posted By: Frank Alves
Speaking as a guitarist, I have to move The Allman Brothers Band Live at the Fillmore and the Who's Live at Leeds to the top of the list. Hendrix's Band of Gypsys needs to be on the list for the first note of the "Machine Gun" solo alone.

+1

Live at Fillmore should certainly be ranked Higher.
That is the blues/rock/jam band live album by which all others are judged.

Band Of Gypsy's should be there also. Not just Machine Gun but Buddy Miles singing "Them Changes" is without a doubt the definitive version.
Posted By: Janice & Bud Re: 50 Best live albums?? - 06/06/20 04:08 PM