PG Music Home
Before the pandemic I would go to a nail salon.

There are ten zillion cosmetic nails for sale.

I want clear thick nails.

Where to buy?
Originally Posted By: Planobilly
Before the pandemic I would go to a nail salon.

There are ten zillion cosmetic nails for sale.

I want clear thick nails.

Where to buy?

I'm missing the point, sorry.

"There are ten zillion cosmetic nails for sale": Does this mean that none of them are "clear thick nails", or you know that a zillion cosmetic nails for sale are for sale - but not from where?

Most guitar players I know use a device called a plectrum, but I'm no expert in these matters.
Billy,

I've never heard of a fingerpicker using cosmetic nails, although that doesn't mean some haven't.

It's always been bare fingers, fingerpicks or chicken pickin'.

Edit: And of course thumb pick and bare fingers.
Hi there,

I am not looking for cosmetic nails that women would put on.

I am looking for clear acrylic nails thick enough to be useful for finger picking.

There are several types of plastic "picks" or plectrums. In the United States we refer to a plectrum as a flat pick. We also have thumb picks. We also have finger picks made from metal.

There are a lot more...

This is a quote from Tommy Emmanuel.

"You can either choose to grow your nails and play like so many fingerstyle player do. They either use their nails or they use the acrylic nails. I play with calluses that I've developed on the tips of my fingers. You could do that as well. Some people play with finger picks instead of nails. So there are a lot of choices out there."

There are a lot of choices, but they do not all sound the same. Metal finger picks have a unique sound for example.