PG Music Home
Posted By: Frank Alves Slow Blast Alternative - 01/19/21 02:33 PM
PG Music used to offer a program called Slow Blast that is no longer supported past Windows 7. Is anyone familiar with a similar program that I might use for slowing down recorded guitar solos, etc.?

Thanks!
Posted By: sslechta Re: Slow Blast Alternative - 01/19/21 03:09 PM
If it's audio files, any DAW will usually be able to do this function by changing the time/speed while preserving the pitch. Because of that there would probably be few standalone programs just for doing that. Download.com may have some utilities.
Posted By: MarioD Re: Slow Blast Alternative - 01/19/21 03:11 PM
Maybe some of these might help:

https://windowsreport.com/audio-slow-down-software/

http://www.hitsquad.com/smm/freeware/SLOW_DOWN_MUSIC/#:~:text=Slow%20Down%20Music,%20Free%20%20%20%20Software,%20%201%20%205%20more%20rows

Note that I have no experience with any of these products.
Posted By: Matt Finley Re: Slow Blast Alternative - 01/19/21 05:19 PM
I use Transcribe!, although it is not cheap. www.seventhstring.com
Posted By: mrgeeze Re: Slow Blast Alternative - 01/19/21 06:12 PM
I own and use Transcribe and Anytune Pro.
Both have Mac Versions and IOS Version.
Not sure of the Win and or Android world.

I find Anytune pro has a additional features I like that Transcribe does not.
Both slow down, alter key, loop, etc.
Anytune adds to that a lot of performance, set list, eq, features that I use for rehearsal and performing (whenever that happens again).

I have used a bluetooth pedal with Anytune for transcribing.
If you do a lot of this work, that feature is a nice to have.

Anyway, for simple copping guitar solos, either works fine.
Posted By: Joe V Re: Slow Blast Alternative - 01/19/21 06:13 PM
I've used Amazing Slow Downer for years - and now I use Transcribe - they are game changers (and don't say that's cheating )