PG Music Home
David Bennett Piano explains:

I like the Faul version versus the Paul version. grin
Friends don't let friends sing G on 1 & 3.
I have played it either wrong or right depending on which version you prefer.
I learned it off the record and I though the first three notes were the same. It was more about Paul's voice than the notes I played on guitar. Later when I started playing the piano and reading music I just though the written music was a mistake.

It never occurred to me that Paul was singing in the cracks...lol

Bending notes around vocally is common, as it is on guitar.

When I got to the Melodyne example my eyes rolled back and I went back to my Texas Instruments calculator solving trig questions that are just as useless but more interesting...lol

I need to send you a electronics circuit to analyze. You obviously have too much time on your hands...lol

Billy
Actually the Melodyne example was most persuasive for me.
Hi Matt,

My reaction to Melodyne was more of a joke concerning our use of a complex piece of software to explain what is pretty clear when anyone who listens to the original record.

The reason people play the G note is because that how it got transcribed or how it may have been originally written but Paul sang the note off pitch.

Plus I have to poke Mr. Video Track every so often just to see if he is awake...lol

If you play the music as written and never listen to the original recording then it is not surprising one would play the G note.

There are advantages to being able to sight read and being able to play by ear.

So now the question becomes precisely how many cents off pitch is the note and should the string players bend the note and the acoustic piano players rest?...lol

I guess if Paul comes over to my house I could ask him what he would like me to play...lol

I am only writing this long response to distract myself from trying to find the error somewhere in the 900 lines of code I just finished writing...lol

Billy