PG Music Home
Posted By: Planobilly Experiments with Auto-Tune - 08/21/21 11:46 PM
Hey guys,

I have been using Melodyne for several years but never really tried Auto-Tune. I got a monthly package which is pretty pricy, about $25 dollars. There are 16 different plug-ins.

I have just begun to experiment with it. It is much different than I really expected.

I sang a simple four-bar set of vocal notes which I checked with Melodyne. The first two were flat so I fixed that in Melodyne.

The sounds that Auto-Tune had to deal with were on pitch.

The amount of control that exists is amazing. I am not talking about producing strange sounds but enhancing a vocal.

Are there others here that use Auto-Tune?

Billy
Posted By: lambada Re: Experiments with Auto-Tune - 08/22/21 04:55 AM
Yes, it's a treat to work with. A bit soul destroying though when you can see you're out of tune but can't hear it! This video is reassuring however! smile https://www.pgmusic.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=669110#Post669110
Posted By: Planobilly Re: Experiments with Auto-Tune - 08/22/21 07:58 AM
I am finding there is a lot more to Auto-Tune than pitch correction. Pitch correction across a complete track sounds pretty un-useable to me.

When I first used Melodyne I saw the same issue. I then learned to only correct notes that sounded bad enough to correct.

I am finding it necessary to play the vocal melody on the piano and learn that. Then I can go back and start to bend the notes around. Having my lead guitar player play the vocal line in rehearsal helps also.
I can sing on pitch if I have a reference but I could not sing F# off the top of my head if my life depended on it...lol

Having every note on pitch sucks.

Anyway, the whole professional set of 16 different plugins can be downloaded for a free trial.