PG Music Home
Posted By: Jim Fogle New Windows Video Editor - ClipChamp - 03/27/22 03:48 PM
Microsoft purchased +++ ClipChamp +++ to integrate the application into Windows 11. However ClipChamp works with other Windows operating system. +++ HERE +++ is an article with more details.
Sounds interesting. I've been using Adobe Premiere Pro for many years. There is only one bad thing with Premiere... it does not support Sonys XAVC S HD.(
Posted By: eddie1261 Re: New Windows Video Editor - ClipChamp - 03/10/23 01:13 PM
When it first came out, and without glasses, I thought it was called ChimpClap.
Posted By: TheMaartian Re: New Windows Video Editor - ClipChamp - 03/11/23 05:41 AM
What a rip-off. It's Basic version is included with a Microsoft 365 subscription (69 €/year), but they want another 11,99 €/month for the Premium version. Adobe Premiere Elements has a one-off cost of 99 €, it's not a subscription. They release a new version annually, with an upgrade price of 79 €, but you don't loose access to the version you have if you don't upgrade. I upgrade every 2-3 years. Premiere Elements is one- to two orders of magnitude more capable, but is still relatively easy to use.

If the "free" version of Clipchamp (part of a 69 €/year sub) works for you, great.
FWIW, I have a friend who's a retired video professional who used to use some very expensive tools, but now uses the OpenSource Olive video editor, with which he seems very happy. I gather it has its problems occasionally, but "is written by someone who knows about video editing and just keeps getting better".

YMMV.

I personally haven't used it.
Posted By: Roycol Re: New Windows Video Editor - ClipChamp - 07/31/23 12:13 PM
Originally Posted By: Gordon Scott