PG Music Home
Posted By: Bruce B Valentines' Night - 04/17/11 12:34 PM
I use BIAB mainly for practicing solos over standards, but with the advent of Realtracks, it's become useful for backing tracks for the duo (The Elderly Brothers) I play in. This track is really just an improvisation over the chords for My Funny Valentine that I did as an experiment. I'm a guitarist, and I played my Strat (not known for Jazz tones) with my Line6 Pod Farm using an original sound. It sounds to me like a path worth following. Take a listen if you like, and feel free to comment. Just paste the URL into your browser.

http://soundcloud.com/bruce-boome/valentines-night
Posted By: Bruce B Re: Valentines' Night - 04/17/11 12:51 PM
Woops, just read the rules. The backing track I used was done with Band In A Box, useing SJAZZC2, as is, nothing added or removed. I burned it as Audio (each track seperate), and put them into Sonar. I also used a free graphic eq plug-in to brighten up the Rhodes a bit, and one to give a touch more edge to the bass guitar. I recorded the guitar in one take, there is one note at the end that is a bit crunchy, but on the whole it was a good performance that I wanted to preserve. I burned it with Kajerhuis Master Limiter inserted into the Master Bus.
Posted By: mglinert Re: Valentines' Night - 04/21/11 08:15 AM

I'm not a jazz man myself. Is this an original compo or not? If not, I'm not altogether sure it should be posted here.

YOu certainly seem to know what you're doing with that electric guitar!

And Bruce, if you don't mind my saying so, you might want to change the name of that band you play in.
Posted By: Pierre Julien Re: Valentines' Night - 04/21/11 11:47 AM
Hi Bruce