PG Music Home
Hi. This is both my first post to the Forum and also my first post of an original composition.

It is called 'I'll Be In A Honky Tonk' and can be accessed at: http://soundcloud.com/phil-babylon

I play in a country band in NE England and got BIAB this Xmas to develop some demos of original songs for the band.

This is my first attempt. I can't pretend to be skilled at music production on a pc and the vocal was recorded first take and needs re-doing.

However, I'd love to hear comments from people.

Apologies if as a newbie I've committed any faux pas.

Best wishes all for 2013

Phil
Posted By: chulaivet1966 I'll Be In A Honky Tonk - 01/12/13 08:24 PM
Although not my genre I gave a listen and I'll happily bump your first song on the interweb.

Pretty good job.
Some fine lead playing and a good mix.

I was listening on small Tascam S1010m's so don't know if others will think the bass could come up about 1db?

I do hear some vocal harmony refrains worming their way into the mix should this one evolve further for you.

Keep up the good work.

Carry on....
Nice job, Phil, and welcome to the software and the forum.

I found the tune, and especially the backing, to be very convincing -- Yorkshire, is it? Isn't that where Hank Williams hails from? Nice, authentic lead guitar work also. We usually post the "specifications" of songs along with the tune, and you can find them in the "Memo" box in BIAB... just copy and paste. I would especially like to know what RealTracks backing you used for this tune.
Phil,

Welcome! You're off to a good start! The tracks are great - the lead guitar is spot on. The vocal seems "a bit over-processed" for a country song. If you've got the RealTracks, some fiddle or pedal steel would be a nice addition - this is, after all, hard-core Country!!

floyd
Posted By: boehm Re: I'll Be In A Honky Tonk - 01/12/13 09:57 PM
Antwort auf:

Pretty good job.
Some fine lead playing and a good mix.
Keep up the good work.

Guenter