PG Music Home
Posted By: molsenhouse The Lover - 10/17/13 12:23 PM
An old emotional pop-song made years ago, that I never figured out – but with BiaB I am testing different arrangements/styles.

https://soundcloud.com/molsenhouse/the-lover-demo

What happens combining an even bass to swinging drums, pop mixed with smooth jazz…?
Shots and holds – I love it!!!

I'm a guitarist singing my own tunes – not a great vocalist, so for this song I'm running the vocal mic into a OD-box (plug-in) to see what happens. Kind of boxy, but lively :-/

Style is _SJAZZC1.STY
RealTracks in song: 1174:Bass, Electric, PopCalypso Ev 100
RealTracks in song: ~~689:Organ, B3, Background Pop Ev 085
(Thanks Scott C for making me aware of this great patch! :-)
RealDrums: RealDrums in Song: SmoothJazzCoolSw16^1-a:Sidestick, HiHat , b:Snare, Ride

Tracked and mixed in DP8, mastered in WaveLab.
Posted By: AudioTrack Re: The Lover - 10/17/13 12:42 PM
Hi
Thanks for sharing, I really liked the pop-feel style, which has a good solid rock sound, and the brass fills work well.

It sounds like you have dubbed a harmony, was that done through a separate layered vocal.

Overall, and excellent composition. Good work.

Trevor
Posted By: Guitarhacker Re: The Lover - 10/17/13 02:13 PM
Nice.... Generally mixing swing with even doesn't work well.... but this does....

loved the horn fills...

the vox is fairly distorted, boxy and buried ... I'd work on getting a better signal path for the vox to get it cleaner and brighter. Doing that would take this to an entirely different level. Be careful with that autotune.
Posted By: ROG Re: The Lover - 10/17/13 03:06 PM
Hi there Molsenhouse.

Yes, yes, yes, I DO like this one.

Great song, fabulous arrangement. Any chance you can give us more details on the tracks which aren't RTs?