PG Music Home
Posted By: guitar1 The Long Way Home - 01/22/18 04:08 AM
Hello everyone. It has been a while since I posted anything. Good internet service is hard to come by on the road. I can surf a little bit, but an upload was not possible most of the time. I am posting a song that I wrote recently. I am just learning to navigate the 2018 upgrade, and the possibilities are intimidating at times, so I am struggling a little. Hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas season.

[Link no longer valid]
The Long Way home

She sits quietly by the roadside in the heat of the day
keeping her lonely vigil while we're gone
she understands our passion and our need to roam
and why we always take the long way home

Chorus

sustained by the memories contained within her walls
though her shutters are battered and worn
In the springtime all our attention will turn her way again
but we'll still take the long way home

Verse two

Her worth can't be explained by the name she is called
or the mere definition of home
though we will always love her, it still can't be explained
why we always take the long way home.

Chorus two
She suffers in silence but she knows there 'll come a day
There will be no reason to roam
So she sits by the roadside and knows until then
we will always take the long way home

tag-- So think of us gently and know we'll come again
but we'll always take the long way home

Posted By: Robertkc Re: The Long Way Home - 01/22/18 12:28 PM
I enjoyed your wistful lyrics and vocal... its a warm and different take on homesickness ( as I heard it), with the home doing the missing!
Are you recording in an RV? Its cool that you can get down the travel insights as you go.

Robert
Posted By: Marty Sorensen Re: The Long Way Home - 01/22/18 12:44 PM
A wonderful plaintive quality to this song.
Posted By: Scott C Re: The Long Way Home - 01/22/18 05:34 PM
So good to here from you Gary. Super tune. Excellent and vocal.. Loved it