PG Music Home
Posted By: Tangmo On Third Thought - 09/20/19 10:45 AM
Though it's an instrumental, I hope it's not too "jammy". This started in BIAB playing again with modal progressions. There are two passes of three sections (roughly equal) in which I tried to follow the same progression in Major, Phrygian, and Mixolydian. Each ends resolved to tonic. Where it worked, I kept it. Where it didn't, I changed it. It ends on a Idim (Cdim) which, if you're keeping score, is a I (C) Locrian. This came out. BIAB is wonderful.

EDIT: Of course everyone is free to comment in any way they see fit. If you want to convince me or others that it is not important to know any theory to write songs/music...you're preaching to the choir. If it sounds good, it IS good.

But what if you want to write a piece using theory? That's what I attempted to do here. I'm no expert. Outside the key of C and without my charts, I'm completely lost. A year ago, I knew even less. But I'm learning, so I wanted to run an experiment. I didn't know how it would turn out. Now I do. I input the chords and BIAB delivered a piece that moved me emotionally. Who'da thunk it? BIAB made it "fun". BIAB made it possible, in my case.

So please don't think I'm just showing off (except the results of the experiment). I just had a nutty idea to "hear" if what I'd been learning was "true". It is. If it doesn't move you, I understand. If it does, thank "theory".

https://soundcloud.com/user-47797156/on-third-thought-1

Style is _ADAMANT.STY (Adamant Gtr Solo Pop Rock Ballad)

RealTracks in style: 1190:Bass, Electric, ModernRnBRock Ev 065
RealTracks in style: 3196:Guitar, Electric, Soloist PopBalladBrent Ev 065
RealTracks in style: 2643:Guitar, Electric, Rhythm ModernPopHardHighMurray Ev16 075
RealTracks in style: 2644:Guitar, Electric, Rhythm ModernPopHardMurray Ev16 075
RealTracks in song: 1949:Piano, Acoustic, Soloist PopRootsyJohn Ev16 100
RealTracks in song: 3267:Cello, Background CelticAirFlowingNatalie Ev 085