PG Music Home
Posted By: TeeKay Every Day is a Good Day for a Christmas Song - 12/20/19 10:35 AM
Hi Folks,

I've been using BIAB in my songwriting for about 5 years now so I thought it was overdue for me to post a link to one of the tunes that feature BIAB instrumentation.

So here is my Christmas tune for your enjoyment. It uses a laid back jazz style suitable for a smooth crooner style performance. It uses all real tracks and is sung by a British session singer by the name of Stephen Simms. I found him via the SoundBetter website. All tracks were exported and the mix done in Reaper.

Title: Every Day Is Christmas
Genre: Jazz/Blues
Song link: https://soundcloud.com/ironbarkmusic/everyday-is-christmas

BIAB Style: _BALFRED.STY Jazz Ballad w/ Piano & Fred Guit
Real Tracks:
~481:Bass, Acoustic, Jazz Ballad Sw 085
~487:Piano, Acoustic, Rhythm Jazz Ballad Sw 085
~555:Guitar, Acoustic, Rhythm Jazz Ballad Freddie Sw 085
2375:Sax, Alto, Soloist JazzBalladPhil Sw 085
JazzBrushesSticks#1

Best Regards,
Tim
Tim,

Welcome to the Showcase.

A really nice Christmas song. Your vocalist is outstanding.

The instrument backing is good.... but the brushes are at too high a level - they almost sound like distortion. You might consider lowering them.

fj
Welcome I did hear the same as Floyd and they are over powering your tracks , definitely one to do as the song has a nice flow along sound, vocals are proud and upfront.

Locking forward to finishing my listen later.

Thanks
Great song and singer, I liked the stops and then the bass leading into the key change. I have never been able to make the brushes sound right, I'm sure others have, but I can't get them to sound good. If you get them so low they don't sound bad, you can barely hear them, so what's the use? Anyway, you got a winner here.
Originally Posted By: floyd jane
Tim,

Welcome to the Showcase.