PG Music Home
Posted By: EdZ314 Blues at Sundown (Piano Blues) - 09/16/20 12:33 AM

Blues at Sundown v2 (Piano Blues)

This is a sort of a fusion of blues with a gospel style. It's my first attempt at any sort of a blues piano solo in a track. I've doe my best to mix it, but I think there's a bit more work needed, so I'd appreciate any advice. I can only play what I hear, and that may be a lot different than many tastes, but all feedback good or bad is welcome.

Realtracks used:

RealTracks in style: 2938:Bass, Fretless Electric Slow12-8Rene Sw 065
RealTracks in style: 1840:Synth Pad, PopModernGrooveMellow Ev16 075
RealTracks in style: 1923:Guitar, Electric, Rhythm TexasBluesRockSlow12-8Brent Sw 060
RealTracks in style: 1924:Guitar, Electric, Rhythm TexasBluesRockSlow12-8Sol Sw 060
Loop in Song: Pop-Soul-RnB\R n B - slowly_54_a_34_c drums sw16.wav

Piano solo is played using the Sforzando plugin with a Yamaha C5 Grand Salamander Soundfont imported.

** Update 9/16 - Updated to v2 based on feedback from @rayc and Misha on the percussion. Thanks gentlemen.

(Old version)
Blues at Sundown (Piano Blues)
Posted By: rayc Re: Blues at Sundown (Piano Blues) - 09/16/20 06:21 AM
The loop is out of time from the get go..well, it isn't a beat or rhythm that carries the other elements.
The groove of the rest of the arrangement seems solid and the soloing seems to fit that aspect BUT it's hard to tell with the percussive stuttering the loop dominates the mix with.
Posted By: Rustyspoon# Re: Blues at Sundown (Piano Blues) - 09/16/20 09:45 AM
Ed,
Cool, spaced out track. Unusual impro throughout. Ray beat me to the comment. I think this particular percussion is taking away from overall experience. Regardless of my opinion, interesting track. Thank you for sharing.

Misha.
Posted By: EdZ314 Re: Blues at Sundown (Piano Blues) - 09/16/20 10:51 AM