PG Music Home
I'm just getting started with BIAB again after a few years hiatus. My guitar is fed into the computer via a MesaBoogie V Twin preamp. In the past I had an old effects rack that I would use to process the sound, give it a little bit of room reverb to wet it up. Now I'd like to bypass that effects processor and go with something software like guitar rig. I tried it once and found the sound to be acceptable but could never get the BIAB to recognize it (ie, when guitar rig was active, the sound wouldn't come out on BIAB files, and vice versa).

Does anyone have any suggestions for guitar processing software that is compatible with BIAB? I mainly just want to play along with arrangements and such.
Well, when I "playalong", I keep my amp sim software (S-gear2) "outside" of BIAB.
Most USB interfaces will allow you to adjust both BIAB & your guitar out to your speakers/headphones.
It can be done. I actually don't do it myself that way - I use my sim in Sonar. I use Revalver, which I prefer to Guitar Rig. Here is a thread on doing this:

http://www.pgmusic.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=242052&site_id=1

Regards,

Bob
So I'm looking at revalver, which says can act as a standalone vst plug in. The article you directed me to is from 2009....does anyone know if BIAB supports direct monitoring?

I guess my larger question would be, how do other people use BIAB if not to play along? Do you just write the music, export it out and play it externally?
A lot of people do save to a common audio format and then use another player, especially when playing live.

I've not done it in BiaB but in RB I have used FreeAmp successfully playing as direct monitor (though I don't record this way as a rule). Should work the same in BiaB.
Also works well as 'after the fact'.
I'm more likely to record the dry line of an amp out so I can adjust the sound later.

http://rekkerd.org/fretted-synth/ <-- FreeAmp link
I think I use version 2.5