PG Music Home
Posted By: AudioTrack How Guitar Strings are made - 09/20/20 05:37 AM

Interesting watch.
Posted By: MountainSide Re: How Guitar Strings are made - 09/20/20 08:13 AM
Well, I have to admit VT, you got me off on a wild tangent. Don't know much about guitars but being an engineer I'm interested in the manufacturing process. Thanks for the link.

I didn't know that there were round core and hex core strings (as explained in the link below). I get the impression that round cores are no longer in demand.

Jeff

https://www.stringsdirect.co.uk/blog/hex-core-round-core-strings/
Posted By: AudioTrack Re: How Guitar Strings are made - 09/20/20 11:04 AM
Jeff, I don't know much about the internals of guitar strings either, but I'm always fascinated with mechanical handling, and, well, this video filled several intrigues.
Trev
Posted By: Deryk - PG Music Re: How Guitar Strings are made - 09/21/20 10:19 AM
Wow - thanks for sharing this. I've always been fascinated with the craft that goes into making the instruments we use for our art.

It might be a challenge to find what it was I watched, but 12 years ago maybe on basic cable I watched a fascinating documentary they went over the process in building various orchestral instruments. I remember one part that fascinated me was that certain violin strings are made from dried twisted animal intestines. I can't imagine the thought process that went into figuring out that one.
Posted By: Danny C. Re: How Guitar Strings are made - 09/23/20 05:41 PM
Very interesting, I had thought it was all machine done. Surprised to see humans actually touch the strings in the process.

Thanks for posting.

Later,
Posted By: Tangmo Re: How Guitar Strings are made - 09/23/20 09:21 PM
Originally Posted By: Deryk - PG Music
Wow - thanks for sharing this. I've always been fascinated with the craft that goes into making the instruments we use for our art.