PG Music Home
Posted By: Jon Thomas How to improve Usertracks ? - 12/22/15 09:48 PM
Hi
I'm new to BIAB, but I'm already hooked to the idea of creating usertracks. Incredible, wonderful feature.
A few thoughts / questions - beware, English is NOT my mother tongue, please be patient :-)

1) I looked at the templates provided by PG Music (especially the 30 minutes one) and I was wondering what is the most effective / efficient way of making good (or excellent) UTs.
I am especially thinking about creating UTs from sounds and loops taken from other Virtual Instruments - in that way, awkard, hard to use VIs may become suddenly useful and usable :-)

And here's my thoughts / doubts about it.
In the available templates, there are a lot of chords that are repeated several times over and over. Now, I understand that this is useful when you create UTs from a recorded human performance, because this allows BIAB to (re)create the variety that human performances provide. But, when you DONT have such variety (or, when the variety is limited) because the source is inehrently limited in performance variety (like in the case of loops from other VI), then I guess it doesn't make any sense to create more recordings / combinations of exactly the same performance (loop). In that case, the best I can do is to bring into BIAB just ONCE each loop / performance that I have available (of course adjusting the templates accordingly).
Am I right?

2) I noticed that BIAB transposes certain chords even when a recording of the exact chord is available. This may create more variety, but it also creates some side-effects and some artifacts (which may be more or less audible depending on the source material, etc.). My questions:
a) is it possible to tell BIAB NOT to transpose IF a recording of the exact chord is available?