PG Music Home
Posted By: WRR Chord entry on 3/4 time..... - 08/07/16 08:35 AM
Newbie here, so bear with me!!

I have a song in 3/4 time, with several measures that require 4 different chords within.....one measure......

First chord 1.5 time (dotted quarter note)
Second chord .5 time (eighth note)
Third chord .75 time (dotted eighth note)
Fourth chord .25 time (sixteenth note)

Is this type of cord entry possible?

Thanks for any and all help!!
Posted By: Charlie Fogle Re: Chord entry on 3/4 time..... - 08/07/16 10:47 AM
The first bar of your song must be 3/4 time. After that, use the F5 key to open song settings and change individual bars to 4 beats where necessary. Then when the bar needs to again be 3 beats, use F5 to change the beats to 3.
Posted By: Jim Fogle Re: Chord entry on 3/4 time..... - 08/07/16 11:06 AM
Welcome to the forum!

Charlie is right to a point but he failed to mention another point when using mixed time signatures.

When playing a song with dual time signatures you MUST start with 4/4 time in order for Band-in-a-Box (BiaB) to interpet the time signature changes correctly.

When you want a song to start in 3/4 time, begin the song with a 4/4 measure; a "dummy" measure. If the song is 3/4 throughout the song then the song can begin with a 3/4 measure.

Also your questions will be seen by more people if you ask them in the Band-in-a-Box part of the forum. This section is about another feature, UserTracks.
Posted By: jford Re: Chord entry on 3/4 time..... - 08/08/16 01:32 PM
Quote:
I have a song in 3/4 time, with several measures that require 4 different chords within.....one measure......

First chord 1.5 time (dotted quarter note)
Second chord .5 time (eighth note)
Third chord .75 time (dotted eighth note)
Fourth chord .25 time (sixteenth note)

What Charlie and Jim said, but to your question.