PG Music Home
Posted By: dr_t Automated key change progression - 08/23/21 12:46 PM
So.. I have a song that starts in one key and, later on, it changes to another key. But I'm not a professional jazz/gospel keyboard player so I don't know any really good progressions to move from one key to another (just a couple of really basic techniques).

I would LOVE to see a feature, rather like the auto-intro generator, that will automatically create a key change progression for me, and create another one if I don't like it, and so on. And, like the intro generator, it'd be nice if I could specify how many bars the progression should run for.

For example, if I have a song in C and the melody finishes on a C chord at bar 16, then I have the melody starting again at bar 17 (on an E chord) in the key of E, I'd like to be able to click on bar 17 (the new key signature) and choose an option to auto-generate a key change progression of, say, 3 bars, from bar 16 (which was in C) going from the key of C to E.
Posted By: Matt Finley Re: Automated key change progression - 08/23/21 01:00 PM
Welcome to the forum. You are looking for a feature to generate and insert modulations.

I congratulate you because to my knowledge no one has requested this before. You can insert bars, and you can insert a new key signature, but you now have to write the chords to accomplish the modulation. This would be nice to be able to ask BIAB to construct that and specify the starting point and duration.

Although BIAB has an Undo feature, it would be important to make sure it works for this feature.

+1
Posted By: MarioD Re: Automated key change progression - 08/23/21 02:14 PM
Good idea.

+1

PS - This would work very well with the regenerate only a few bars wish. One could regenerate the modulation measures until they find one they like.
Posted By: Matt Finley Re: Automated key change progression - 08/23/21 04:03 PM
Mario, yes.