PG Music Home
Posted By: RichRayer Windows 10 and Band in a Box startup - 11/23/16 01:10 PM
Everytime I start Band in a Box 2015, I get the message:

"Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your device?"

This is a bit annoying. Why is Band In a Box not a trusted program and how to do I fix this problem?

Thanks for any help. It is appreciated.
Hmmmm.....
I'm no expert with computers but will throw out the following.

Does this happen with other programs on your computer?
If so, could this prompt be related to a particular anti-virus program you are using?

I just did a fresh install on Win7, haven't installed my preferred anti-virus program yet (AVG Free) and haven't had this happen to me yet when opening BIAB.
Just trying to see some logic here.

Carry on....good luck.
Posted By: musiclover Re: Windows 10 and Band in a Box startup - 11/23/16 02:57 PM
Seems to me its a firewall that you have that is asking you this, either a stand alone one or the one in windows.

Musiclover
Posted By: Matt Finley Re: Windows 10 and Band in a Box startup - 11/23/16 03:34 PM
Check your User Account Control setting in Windows.

Which version of Windows?
Posted By: RichRayer Re: Windows 10 and Band in a Box startup - 11/23/16 04:30 PM
Thanks for the comments guys.

I am using Windows 10 with the latest Anniversary update. This problem only occurs on BiaB and an older version of Soundforge (from the Windows XP days). For Soundforge I can honestly say I understand why since it is a legacy product. BiaB having this issue makes no sense to me as it is not that old. I am planning on upgrading to this year's release when it comes out but heck my version is only a year behind and well within the Windows 10 timeframe.

My antivirus is eSet and it works well with everything else. I don't know about firewalls or what Windows 10 is doing with firewalls but I DON'T want to lower my UAC setting and let anything else out there on the net trying to hack into my setup.

[SOAP BOX]