PG Music Home
Posted By: Book Lung Any insight? - 02/21/21 04:31 PM
Hey everyone - I'm still a BIAB beginner here.

I play through my pc using TH-U and use an audio interface. I got BIAB for xmas and it's a great piece of software, other than desperately needing a lot of time with a half-decent interface design team...

But I had one goal with it - I've got a simple chord progression, which I've written some lyrics for. I wanted to work on this by setting a band off on a loop and then playing along with it. I think that it'd help me to find the right tempo and timing, and try out some different styles.

I can start the band on a loop with a chord progression but I can't work out how to hear my guitar at the same time.

In a DAW, it's easy enough - just open an instrument track, set it to the input from my audio interface and turn on input monitoring. Do the same for a drum patterns and I can play along.

I thought it would be the similar for BIAB as well, but I can't seem to work out what I need to do. I've read the manual but nothing seemed to cover how to hear yourself live.

As a follow up question, TH-U has a VST plug-in and I want to use this when I play. BIAB has VST support and I can load the plug-in fine. But I can only seem to be able to apply to an existing track. I can't hear my guitar through it live.

Is this possible?

Be really grateful for any light that anyone can shed.
Posted By: Jim Fogle Re: Any insight? - 02/22/21 05:16 PM
For other forum members, +++ TH-U +++ is an amplifier simulator application by Overloud.

Book Lung,

Band-in-a-Box does not offer direct monitoring. Direct monitoring is the ability to playback your guitar audio and Band-in-a-Box generated audio in real time.

What are you using to get your guitar signal into your computer and into TH-U or Band-in-a-Box?

To hear both your guitar audio and Band-in-a-Box audio in real time you will need an external hardware device such as an audio interface or mixer.